Facebook Email Pinterest Twitter X Instagram Tiktok Icon YouTube Icon Headphones Icon Favorite Navigation Search Icon Forum Search Icon Main Search Icon Close Icon Video Play Icon Indicator Arrow Icon Close Icon Hamburger/Search Icon Plus Icon Arrow Down Icon Video Guide Icon Article Guide Icon Modal Close Icon Guide Search Icon

Conversational Threads

VERY EASY PATTERNS – DO SUCH TH…

Roberta | Posted in The Archives on

VERY EASY PATTERNS – DO SUCH THINGS EXIST?
As a self taught sewer, I have been sewing with varied fitting success for many years.
I read all that I can about fitting, but I have to say that I find it mostly confusing.
I think that big pattern companies are partly to blame for the drop off in home sewing. Labelling a pattern VERY EASY that obviously needs extensive fitting alterations for any but the exact figure that the pattern was drafted for is almost bound to lead to failure for the average amateur who tries to sew it. And the suggested petite alteration lines on paper patterns may be in the wrong place for you, as I have only recently discovered.
I read with bafflement letters that ask readers to recommend patterns that fit well – surely as everyone is a different shape then what is the point of buying a particular pattern that fits an entirely different person? Successful fit surely depends on how well you can alter the pattern to your body. And I agree with another reader who states that nowadays most people don’t have the fitting skills and many don’t even have the sewing skills to cope.
I also recently had a sloper made by Betty Foster, a famous pattern making teacher in Yorkshire, UK. I hope this will solve some of my fitting problems – although I don’t know how successful I will be in transferring the changes to a bought pattern. She travels around craft and sewing exhibitions in the UK. She has measured many people and confidently states that there is no standard shaped person anywhere!